Trying Not To Starve While I’m Living On My Own

So instead of living on campus in a dorm for my freshman year of college, I decided to rent my own house with two other girls. It’s been almost 2 weeks since I first moved into my new place, and I’m learning a lot of new things.  For example, how to share 1 shower with 2 other girls, how to go shopping for essential things like laundry detergent and dishwasher soap (instead of mooching off my parent’s), and how to cook food for myself (it’s harder than I thought).

After a few days of going out to restaurants and buying frozen pizzas and eating bowls of cereal, my roommate (Rachel) and I decided it was time to make something delicious at home.  After searching tediously on Pinterest for recipe ideas, we finally decided on frozen chicken strips from the freezer with homemade hand-cut french fries and bread pudding for dessert.

We thought it would be a great idea to blog about it, so here is Rachel’s and my attempt to make french fries and bread pudding…

Homemade French Fries (taught to me by my mother)

Step 1: Cut washed potatoes into french fry shapesStep 2: Line the bottom of the pan with oil then throw the freshly cut potatoes into the pan. (I like to add some salt and pepper to the fries while they cook).IMG_1151Step 3: Cook til they look a little crisp and brown. Enjoy!IMG_1157

Bread Pudding (our Pinterest find)

We just followed the recipe on the Pinterest link, so I’ll just show you the pictures of our process with a few captions. And if you are super interested in this bread pudding then here is the link to the original recipe…

http://mikeysinmykitchen.com/2013/03/22/classic-bread-pudding-with-vanilla-sauce/

All the ingredients

Stiffening up the bread a little bit so it doesn't get too soggy. Should be a stale feeling not toasted

Stiffening up the bread a little bit so it doesn’t get too soggy. Should be a stale feeling not toasted

Whipping it up

Whipping it up while jamming out to some music from the laptop

Before mixing and baking

Before mixing and baking

After mixing and baking

After mixing and baking

Sugar-filled delicious sauce that goes on top of bread pudding and just about anything else you could think of. (It's that good!)

Sugar-filled delicious sauce that goes on top of bread pudding and just about anything else you could think of. (It’s that good!)

The final product!

The final product! (We added some ice cream just to add a little more sugar to the dessert.)

Overall, I think we did a pretty good job. I mean just look at the differences in these 2 meals. And that’s not including the tasty bread pudding!

Screen Shot 2015-08-14 at 2.12.51 AMScreen Shot 2015-08-14 at 2.13.23 AM

One thought on “Trying Not To Starve While I’m Living On My Own

Leave a Reply

